Manually Adding A Domain By Setting Up DNS Records At Cloudflare

Greetings Mail-in-a-Box world!

I am brand new to Mail-in-a-Box.

Most of my domains are registered at Cloudflare.

Cloudflare does not allow you to change your nameservers like many other registrars do.

I want to add a couple of additional domains to my Mail-in-a-Box setup, but I cannot use the option of setting the nameservers and letting Mail-in-a-Box do the DNS setup.

Basically, I will need to add all of the necessary dns records manually inside of Cloudflare.

Everything I searched for in this group only told me about the change-the-nameserver method.

Is there a tutorial or document anywhere that shows every dns record that I would need to add manually to make this work?

Thanks in advance for your help!

1 Like

JonD, I am happy you chose Mail In A Box to self host your mail server.

Like you, I too have my domains registered on Cloudflare. I would like to advice you that Cloudflare allows you to delegate a sub domain to name servers hosted by Mail In A Box using the “NS” record.

Let me say my domain name is “EXAMPLE.COM” and so, I create “qwerty.example.com” in CloudFlare dashboard and add two “NS” records and point them to “ns1.box.qwerty.example.com” and “ns2.box.qwerty.example.com”.

Now, I make a stub “ns1.box.qwerty.example.com” with an A and AAAA record to the appropriate IP address. Likewise for “ns2.box.qwerty.example.com”.

Now, I run the Mail In A Box setup and my box is setup and I will have a personal email address me@qwerty.example.com.

I am using sub domain “qwerty.example.com” and if I want to allow mail for the root domain, “example.com”, I can setup Email forwarding with CloudFlare to forward all email to @example.com to the Mail In A Box account, me@qwerty.example.com.

If you have more than one domain in CloudFlare just create a sub domain name for each domain that you want to setup Mail In A Box on and delegate it to two name servers that will host your Mail In A Box.