I started on an OVH VPS but I've been hunting for a new provider and keep hitting bad luck

I know there a number of similar threads already and some people recommend facebook’s Linode and some other VPS providers like Time4VPS but it seems that either you’re getting more in bed with evil or you’re getting a kind of shoddy VPS at best. DigitalOcean is clearly a joke and OVH at the time didn’t have a healthy reputation on their ASN’s

I can recommend Contabo. Been using their STORAGE VPS S at 4.5 euro a month and have not run into a single issue in 18 months.

2 Likes

Akamai owns Linode, not Facebook. I’ve been running MiaB on a Linode VPS ($5/month) for over 3 years without any problems.

1 Like

who do you think owns Akamai

Akamai is a publicly traded corporation.

Thanks for making me verify that was just a rumour. I wonder where it started.

Think I’ll have to do anything special here to get port 25 on Contabo?

Probably because, according to Wikipedia, Facebook was using Akamai’s CDN until the mid-2010s, and the NSA and the FBI reportedly used that CDN to gather information on Facebook users. However, this report does not indicate that Akamai was complicit in this process.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Facebook?Akamai#Content_delivery_network_(CDN)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Akamai_Technologies#Controversies

For me it worked ootb. I believe by default it is rate limited.

I bet the rate is way higher than I need anyways.

I’ve been on Linode’s Nanode plan ($5/month) for 5 years with no issues. They were bought recently-ish by Akamai and that initially made a lot of people nervous about how their service might change. They did raise prices, but the Nanode plan stayed at $5 and I haven’t otherwise noticed or heard anyone complaining about the level of service changing.