Get rid of status check errors for secondary domain

I’ve been using MiaB for a while with one domain and just added a second but now I’m getting errors on my status checks page for the new domain such as “The nameservers set on this domain are incorrect” and “This domain should resolve to your box’s IP address.” I’m only using MiaB for email on this domain so I have its DNS set up elsewhere and the main domain pointing to a web server. I found this other post that seems to be the same thing and there’s a short but sweet “no worries” answer:

I can accept that this is “ok” and there is nothing to worry about, but my OCD just hates looking at the status check page and seeing red Xs. In software development, we run our tests and see “all green” and know we’re good. As I’m learning more about being a MiaB admin, I was loving the status checks page since it acted like my “all green” confirmation… until now. Is there any way to tell MiaB this is a secondary domain and the website is hosted elsewhere so don’t do those particular checks?

Likely the only way is to sumbit a PR to do exactly as you desire. I do believe there is one PR somewhere possibly even accepted into main that tones down some of the messages a bit, but really this is an open source project with a handful of devs that ever contribute actual code.

Point the A record on the second domain to it’s actual location on the Custom DNS page in the admin area. Let me know what happens afterwards - I am not sure that it will totally relieve the issue. @Brent

Thanks @alento! It doesn’t clean it up entirely as I’d ideally like but it does turn the red “X” marks into a more friendly greenish color “?” instead. Good enough to satisfy my OCD and now I can look at the page and see no red and know I’m probably OK. Thanks!

1 Like

Sadly, this gets even worse if you’re purely using external DNS (none of my DNS is hosted via the box), on top of having DNSSEC activated.