Digitalocean with Sendgrid SMTP Relay

Hi,

I’m fairly new to the vps world, i’ve used shared hosting for over 6 years and because our Laravel app got bigger and we needed queu workers, we made the switch to digitalocean droplet with Laravel Forge.

Everything’s running smootly except our emails… i dont want to use google mail services or anyother because we have a few mails on our team and that’s why i made another droplet for Mail-in-a-box server.

i’ve found the following link and made the same changes:

if i run the following command:

echo “my testing messages lala” | mail -s “test emaillolo” -r “Johnjohn@doe.be” mary@doe.be

i’m getting the email, which is a good sign, means that ive setup it right.

however emails sent from webmail or mail client Spark on my android phone don’t get delivered…

Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks in advance.

AskinSavascisi

1 Like

Hiya,

Personally don’t use a relay but see this discussion:

There’s a link to a guide that is recommended in it:

If you are having problems would recommend jumping on the slack chat.

Cheers,
Mat

Hi,

For those who struggled to integrate sendgrid with mail in a box, you need to edit the contents of main.cf located in /etc/postfix/ like mentioned in the following post:

However i thought that i needed to change the contents of main.cf file to the given details on the tutorial, which is not the case,

you just need to do the following:

1. change following line in main.cf:
    relayhost = → relayhost = [smtp.sendgrid.net]:587

and append/add the following text block under relayhost

smtp_sasl_auth_enable = yes
smtp_sasl_password_maps = hash:/etc/postfix/sasl_passwd
smtp_sasl_security_options = noanonymous
smtp_sasl_tls_security_options = noanonymous
smtp_tls_security_level = encrypt
header_size_limit = 4096000

you still need to follow the other steps and it’ll work out.

Kind regards,

AskinSavascisi

Thanks AskinSavascisi,

I struggled a bit with gething this to work with mailgun.