Sending mails via ISP's SMTP Server

Hello community

I’m new to MIAB, just got my first installation done and so far receiving mails correctly, but not sending because of missing SPF records due to the dynamic public IP I get from my ISP.
I’m aware the proper way to go is to use MIAB on a static public IP, but at this point I’m at the stage of getting familiar with the server before I decide to pay extra for the static IP.
Said that, is it possible to configure MIAB to send mails via an external SMTP Server, as my ISP’s SMTP ?

Thanks and regards
Facundo

Unless you are getting an exceptionally reasonable price for a static IP from your ISP, you’re probably better off following the recommendations of the Setup Guide and using a cloud provider.

Hi, it’s always possible, but might not be worth the effort. I think it will be less hassle overall to use a static address.

If you want to try experimenting, you’ll need to manually change the postfix config. See http://www.postfix.org/BASIC_CONFIGURATION_README.html#relayhost. The mods for this are straight-forward but but be aware that your changes might break things - you’re on your own. And your changes will almost certainly get overwritten whenever you upgrade MIAB. (There is more discussion about relay setup on https://www.linode.com/docs/guides/postfix-smtp-debian7/ (see Configuring SMTP Usernames and Passwords down to Configuring the Relay Server) but it shows lots of stuff that is already provided by the standard MIAB.)

I guess you’re on an it-might-change IP address - stable enough to set-up DNS etc but not guaranteed. My personal preference would be go for the static IP address. I’m running on an own (NUC) server at home, and apart from one or two router/firewall setup issues (when the IP address had to be changed) it’s been very trouble-free. The static address costs me $5/m and I’m on my own hardware, not someone else’s server farm :slight_smile: “In the cloud” means “on someone else’s computer”.