Possible security question

Hi Team,

I have been running MIAB for a few years. I am learning Python recently and trying to test a snip of email related code. What surprised me is that I can just send and receive without any user/pass authentication. Is this a normal behavior with any mail server setup, like gmail, etc ?
It can not send email to other domains and it prompts “relay denied”.
It doesn’t work with sender email from other domains.
It only work between local domain for both sender and receiver.

Should I worry about this being used by remote parties? Thanks!

from email.mime.text import MIMEText
msg = MIMEText(“Hi There”)
msg[‘Subject’] = “A Test Message”
msg[‘From’] = ‘John kim john.kim@abc.com
msg[‘To’] = ‘Pikcarass pik.cara@abc.com

msg.as_string()
import smtplib
s = smtplib.SMTP(‘box.abc.com’)
s.sendmail(‘john.kim@abc.com’,[‘pik.cara@abc.com’],msg.as_string())

Hi @miabatf2f10.

This is exactly how other servers send email to you. If emailing you required a username/password, you would never receive any mail. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi Josh,

If I know two email addresses within one email domain, I can essentially spam them each other remotely?

For example, I know there’s jacob@cisco.com and there’s peter@cisco.com; I then, can remotely use tools similar to above python script, or even a telnet session, to box.cisco.com and send email to them from each other?

or, even, from maxist@abc.com to peter@cisco.com ? This is supposed to work?
Then, it would be part of venue for spam, is it not?

Please enlighten a bit on this further.
Thanks Josh!

I’m not a developer and you’ve provided scarce details for anyone who is not a developer to understand even what you are doing.

Is this some sort of code being executed from MiaB server?

It’s executed from a laptop.

Is the laptop running MiaB?

As Josh already stated, this is how it is supposed to work. Note however, that mail does not necessarily be delivered in your inbox.