Need help moving FROM MIAB TO Proton Mail

I am getting to the point where I am not interested in maintaining a separate mail server, so I am trying to move from self hosted MIAB to Proton Mail. This is a daunting task already, as I have been running MIAB for 5 years, and this account is tied to some key stuff. I am at the step in Proton Mail setup of verifying my domain, which means I need to change my DNS from MIAB to my providers (GANDI) DNS so that I can upload a TXT record. When switching to Gandi’s LiveDNS I get this warning:“To avoid interrupting your domains when switching to LiveDNS, you will be asked to add your custom DNS records in addition to those required by LiveDNS. You may also use default records.” I know that I need to add some things to the custom DNS settings. From the MIAB setup guide it looks like there is a whole host of information I need to copy over from my MIAB admin pages External DNS settings. I’m not sure of the format or everything needs to be copied or how. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

You wouldn’t want to copy any of your MIAB dns settings in gandi as that would redirect mail back to miab. Isn’t the point for you to get to proton mail?

You would need protons dns configurations added to your domain name in gandi.

I may be thinking about this wrong. But if I set DNS to Gandi LiveDNS, I still want mail to find my MIAB mailbox until I finish the migration. After that I will kill the MIAB mailbox droplet that I have at DO.

Yes then you would manually copy over the “external” dns entries in MiaB into gandi’s dns setting for your domain.

Thank you, I think I have it. If it doesn’t work I just set Gandi’s DNS back to external with my current settings and that should reset it correct?

Yes