Migration to a new server

I have a MIAB on a Contabo server and want to migrate to a new server. Backup and restore is too slow. Is it possible to copy everything to the new server with rsync. Then disable all mail services (SMTP and MIAB) on the old server, make a last diff sync and change mx record to the new server.

Is it enough to copy the folder /home/user-data?

Is that a good way for migration?

Or change your MIAB to local backups, force a backup, and rsync /home/user-data/backup/ (plus the secret_key file) to your new box. Then it’s just a local restore on the new box. That way your main backup (you do have one!?) isn’t disturbed and available if needed.

1 Like

Hi, I am facing the same.
Since I am a newbie on Mail in a Box my setup failed due to a hardware issue.
Now i need to move the entire system to a new platform.
My idea is to setup a fresh new Mail in a Box server and than rsync /home/user-data
Does this work?

I’m struggling with moving to the new machine. First, I installed a fresh MIAB and then I rsynced /home/user_data the the new server, but when I run

mailinabox/management/status_checks.py

then I get the following errors:

✓  IP address is not blacklisted by zen.spamhaus.org.
multiprocessing.pool.RemoteTraceback:
"""
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python3.10/multiprocessing/pool.py", line 125, in worker
    result = (True, func(*args, **kwds))
  File "/usr/lib/python3.10/multiprocessing/pool.py", line 51, in starmapstar
    return list(itertools.starmap(args[0], args[1]))
  File "/root/mailinabox/management/status_checks.py", line 398, in run_domain_checks_on_domain
    check_dns_zone_suggestions(domain, env, output, dns_zonefiles, domains_with_a_records)
  File "/root/mailinabox/management/status_checks.py", line 579, in check_dns_zone_suggestions
    check_dnssec(domain, env, output, dns_zonefiles)
  File "/root/mailinabox/management/status_checks.py", line 603, in check_dnssec