MIAB won't send mail out if the domain exists in-system

I’ve been running MIAB for a few years now, with almost zero problems. But I’ve encountered an interesting situation that I haven’t been able to work around.

I host email for my business and several small clients, and recently I had a client who needed a quick fix to get a registration form on a WordPress site sending email again (unrelated problem with their web server). I don’t host this client’s email, it’s running on Office 365.

I had little time to get their web form working again, so I quickly added a “noreply” address for their domain to my MIAB instance, hooked up their WordPress site to that account via an SMTP plugin, and voila! All is well.

Except now, any time I try to send email from my business address to any address on their domain, MIAB stops the message from going out and instead looks internally for the address, and because I don’t actually host their email, it rejects the message with the error “Recipient address rejected: User unknown in virtual mailbox table”.

And I know the issue is internal, because emailing them from any address not hosted on my MIAB instance works just fine.

I know this is a weird edge case and I probably shouldn’t be doing this on my production MIAB - but is there a way to tell MIAB to ignore this domain internally and route emails externally instead?

Do you mean you created noreply@example.com as an email account in MiaB?

Correct - I don’t host example.com but I created a noreply mailbox for that domain (and added my MIAB IP to their SPF record) for the purpose of relaying email messages from their web server. So now, all email from my domains hosted in MIAB to example.com, no matter where they are hosted, are failing because MIAB is apparently looking internally for the address.