MiaB as BLIND DNS Master

If you allow MiaB to be your domain’s authoritative server (NSD only does authoritative) then v67 does a brilliant job setting up all the necessary DNS entries (except for _smtp._tls :slight_smile:) for all the domains you’re serving. You can even declare a secondary DNS server which can be hosted anywhere or you (as the documentation puts it) ignore MiaB’s DNS completely and use a completely external DNS solution.

I’m new to MiaB but I’ve run most of its underlying services for many years and paid my dues with regards to setting up self-hosted authoritative DNS in a safe and performant manner.

I accept that it would be completely out of scope for MiaB to get involved in setting up external DNS servers. Yet it strikes me that a relatively minor change would allow the best of both worlds.

Let me explain.

At the moment, when you use external DNS, you’re presented with zone records (on the page as well as in zone file formal). If you declare one or more secondary DNS servers, those are included in the zone files and the nds configuration is updated to do the zone transfers provided uou have the secondaries set up to accept transfers. The assumption in both cases is that box.yourdomain.tld hosts the authoritative DNS records as ns1.box.yourdomain.tld.

The arrangement I am after and have found for many years to work really well, involves what the DNS providers and documentation calls a blind master. That is where the machine/software that sets up the appropriate DNS records uch as MiaB does is invivible to the public. There is no NS record for it in the zone file and the SOA does not point to it. Instead, the SOA and NS records point to a set of nameservers, typically hosted as secondary servers at a DNS provider (I prefer ClouDNS but it’s a common service) for which you declare the master server(s) by IP to be your self-hosted authoritative domain.