Mail-in-a-Box in AWS cloud

Hello everyone,

I’m new to Mail-in-a-Box, but want to try it.
For many years I have been an active user of AWS cloud. Have set up and run numerous instances successfully for lots of my projects.

Does anyone on this forum currently run Mail-in-a-Box on AWS? What about port 25 blocking? Any other issues? Is this possible at all?

Sorry if this topic has been already discussed.

Many thanks in advance,
Gregory

Hi Gregory,

I’m using AWS for 4 years or so. Port 25 and reverse DNS just need tickets raised but everything else is stock standard Aws and straight forward.

Cheers,
Mat

Hello Mat,

Thanks a lot for your prompt reply!
Actually, I was almost sure that everything is OK with AWS and Mail-in-a-Box.
But I wanted a real user’s evidence before actually starting the project!

Best regards,
Greg

1 Like

I tried with AWS Lightsail recently and they refused to allow my VPS to send mail, citing an invalid use case (it’s a mail server?) and that I need to use SES (simple email service). It looked way too complicated so I gave up and went elsewhere.

Hello Grace,
Of course Amazon would always push customers to use their own product/service. Like SES.
But your story ends in different way than Matt’s (the previous answer to my post). Why?
Perhaps because you tried recently and Matt started 4 years ago? AWS policy has changed? Or perhaps it depends on particular AWS region you are using?

So two replies to my post say exactly the opposite… It’s rather confusing!
But thank you and Matt so much anyway!

It seems I should try it myself. Perhaps getting a third and a different result.

Regards,
Gregory

If you do, I’d be interested to know the outcome :slight_smile:

If you do, I’d be interested to know the outcome :slight_smile:

I will! Just finish my current project (my very own VPN service!) and will approach MiaB!
And will tell the result!

Gregory