MaiB PDF Manual?

Is there a PDF manual for MaiB?

Trying to find out how to fix this on the Status page:

?
Web has been disabled for this domain because you have set a custom DNS record.

?
A redirect from ‘www.xxxxxxx.yyy’ has been disabled for this domain because you have set a custom DNS record on the www subdomain.

MaiB server is running fine, but the above questions come up.

Thanks

Dennis

No there is no pdf version of the setup guide available that I am aware of.

The warning that you are seeing is due to the fact that you have set a custom A record which is likely because you have a website being served elsewhere. It is a perfectly normal thing to see.

Keep in mind that MiaB was created with the intention of being able to host a simple static webpage on the same server. This message is informing you that the webpage is NOT being hosted on this server.

Not serving any other web sites.

I do have custom DNS set, because I am new at this and assumed I had to for webmail to work.

Welcome to Mail-in-a-Box!

No, there is no requirement to set custom DNS for anything. MiaB works straight out of the box assuming that you are using it to handle its own DNS by setting the required glue records at your domain registrar.

I find the easiest way to manage this is to have separate servers for web and mail, and a dedicated mail domain, which is the only domain I host on the mail server.

For me the perfect set up is to have a domain dedicated to hosting the mail server. Of course, I host my normal domain’s email on the MiaB install but use external DNS for it. MiaB in the end only controls DNS for the domain dedicated to hosting the mail server. This mostly eliminates MiaB from being a potential single point of failure. But, this discussion is leading off topic. :frowning:

In MaiB Custom DNS I have A and AAAA records set for
domain.tld
box.domain.tld
www.domain.tld

And an MX record for
10 box.domain.tld.

What do I need to change or remove?