Google Drive Backups with Duplicity

I am new to Mail-In-A-Box. And I have a few questions:

Is it possible to setup Google Drive with Duplicity for the storage of the backups?

Is it possible to have the backups deleted from local once they are at the remote storage?
Otherwise one would have to calculate double the mail storage for ones box if I am not mistaken.

@michacassola I imagine all of the things you asked are completely possible. However, you may have to create scripts for such things. I havenā€™t really done backups of my server my self (even though I should have). Iā€™ll have to take a look into it.

Do you have BASH experience?

1 Like

@michacassola As @Eliter advanced (as an alternative) you can:

1. Use a custom bash script to *.tgz your desired folders to a custom folder (letā€™s say /home/backups/ ) and cronjob *.tgz files to be created (letā€™s say daily at 23:14h)

2. Use external apps (or web services) to sync your /home/backups/ content to a GoogleDrive folder (lets say, /miab/backups/), daily at 23:59h by using tools like Microsoft Flow -> SFTP server to Google Drive or MultCloud.

• If you donā€™t know how to create a bash script + cronjob for that task let me know it and Iā€™ll provide you an example of it.
1 Like

Just as an aside to @just4tā€™s comments.

MiaBā€™s scheduled backup time is at 03h00 each day server time.

Personally, I have a cron job running each day at 03h30 to rsync the backup to a different server.

@alento Just a question, why not use the build in rsync backup function from MiaB?

@Glennmen

With regards to this thread ā€¦ the OP is wanting to copy his backups to Google Drive.

With regards to my MiaBā€™s that I maintain, it is because the ā€˜storageā€™ server uses a non-default SSH port and I could not get it to work properly at the time. The time being BEFORE MiaB added the ability to backup using rsync. That functionality was added in v0.21. (Yes, I have been using MiaB since before then!) :slight_smile: