Correct charset in nginx

Hi guys, I’m a new user of Mail-in-a-Box (started this morning) and I’m already loving it!

I changed the landing page to show my contact information, but the page seems to be served using the wrong charset. I’m also new to nginx so I googled it and found that I should add charset utf-8; in the server {} declaration of my NGINX configuration file.

I went ahead to do this but found a warning in the config file that says I should not modify it because MiaB will overwrite it.

Can anyone tell me if this is something I can modify in any way? It says in the same note to not ask for help regarding this config, but maybe utf-8 should be a standard setting? My native language (and my landing page language) is Spanish, and now “Consultoría” is served as “Consultoría”.

Thanks for any help no this matter.

Santiago

Usually creating new files is not overwritten by MiaB.

In most nginx installs, you can add a configuration file to /etc/nginx/conf.d/ and that will work for anything universal to the nginx http block, though not an individual server block.

So I think you can just create /etc/nginx/conf.d/charset.conf and just put in the file charset utf-8; to get this to work for you.

Thanks! I’ll try that as soon as I get a new VPS running. I just found out that Digitalocean now blocks port 25 for new instances, so I can not host my MiaB there.

Cheers!
Santiago

Try sending support a ticket.

I did, and unfortunately the informed me that they don’t open this port for new instances. They suggested some workarounds which I think would take a lot of my time to implement. I told them that I just want to make it work without giving it much time, and that I would look for a different provider if they didn’t open the port. Then they suggested the same workarounds and told me they cannot open the port at this time.